interfiction

interfiction XXV / 2018

TOOLS FOR TRANSFOMATION

Something should change? This requires – as in 1968 the now legendary "Whole Earth Catalog" put it – access to tools. 50 years after the year that up till today is associated with an era of protest movements striving for transformation of almost all social realms,  this year’s interfiction summit for art, media and network cultures is focussing on TOOLS FOR TRANSFORMATION. While the so-called digital revolution has long begun to devour its children and to unfold reactionary powers, we are asking for alternatives – and for what we can learn from history to re-load our analogital toolboxes anew.

Artists, video- and filmmakers, designers, programmers and (h)activists, researchers in media and network cultures, and others interested in interdisciplinary exchange are invited to join the conference and to discuss their ideas and projects. Moreover, the interfiction DIY-Lab will offer opportunities to test, to share and to develop how-tos and know-how in practice as well.

Call for contributions and further information: www.interfiction.org

Contact: info@interfiction.org

interfiction, a yearly workshop symposium, has been part of the Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival since 1995. As the interdisciplinary section of the festival, interfiction’s aim is to bring together artists and scholars, theorists and practitioners in one event, in order to deal with the complex field of art, media and net culture together. Every year there is a new topic of focus. Based on the pressing questions of the issues, projects and hypothesis are presented and discussed, while workshops and talks enable a concentrated exchange, which is supposed to lead to a deeper reflection and show new perspectives.

interfiction is a forum for the exchange, networking and cooperation of producers of theory practice. The main structure of the event is reflected in the wish to function as a “temporary laboratory” – not only a platform for ideas and projects but to enable a direct and productive discussion about questions and problems which are essential to the participants.

Head of the section is Dr. Verena Kuni, professor for Visual Culture at the Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main.

interfiction

erdisziplinäre Workshoptagung interfiction
Interdisziplinäre Workshoptagung interfiction
Interdisziplinäre Workshoptagung interfiction
Verena Kuni (Sektionsleitung)
Interdisziplinäre Workshoptagung interfiction

interfiction

interfiction XXV / 2018

TRANSFORMATIONS-WERKZEUGE

Etwas soll anders werden? Dafür braucht es – wie schon der erstmals 1968 publizierte "Whole Earth Catalog" wusste – Zugang zu Werkzeugen. 50 Jahre nach dem Jahr, das noch heute wie kaum ein anderes für eine Zeit steht, die Bewegung in so gut wie alle gesellschaftlichen Bereiche bringen wollte, befasst sich die interdisziplinäre Workshop-Tagung für Kunst, Medien und Netzkultur interfiction mit TRANSFORMATIONS-WERKZEUGEN. Während die so genannte digitale Revolution längst damit begonnen hat, ihre Kinder zu fressen und reaktionäre Kräfte zu entfalten, fragen wir nach alternativen Perspektiven – und danach, was wir aus der Geschichte lernen können, um unsere analogitalen Werkzeugkästen neu zu bestücken.

Künstler/innen, Video- und Filmemacher/innen, Programmierer/innen, (H)A(c)ktivist/innen, DesignerInnen, Medien-, Netz- und Kulturwissenschaftler/innen und andere an einem interdisziplinären Austausch zum Thema interessierte Theoretiker/innen und Praktiker/innen sind dazu eingeladen, im Rahmen der Tagung in Vorträgen und Präsentationen Thesen und Projekte vorzustellen und zu diskutieren – sowie im interfiction DIY-Lab Praxiswissen auszutauschen und neues Know-how zu erwerben.

Die Ausschreibung und weitere Informationen sind unter www.interfiction.org abrufbar.

Seit 1995 findet die Workshop-Tagung interfiction jährlich als im Rahmen des Kasseler Dokumentarfilm- und Videofestes statt. Als dessen interdisziplinäre Sektion will interfiction Künstler/innen und Wissenschaftler/innen, Theoretiker/innen und Praktiker/innen zu einer Veranstaltung zusammenzubringen, in der gemeinsam das komplexe Spannungsfeld von Kunst, Medien und Netzkultur ausgelotet werden kann. Jedes Jahr wird dazu ein aktuelles Fokus-Thema ausgewählt. Ausgehend von Fragestellungen werden dabei in Vorträgen und Präsentationen Thesen und Projekte vor- und zur Diskussion gestellt, während Workshops und Gesprächsrunden einen konzentrierten Austausch fördern, der über eine Vertiefung und Reflexion hinaus auch weiterführende Perspektiven eröffnen soll.

Die Workshop-Tagung interfiction versteht sich als Forum für den Austausch, die Vernetzung und die Zusammenarbeit von Produzent/innen aus Theorie und Praxis. Die Grundstruktur der Veranstaltung entspricht dem Anliegen, als ein "temporäres Labor" zu funktionieren, also nicht nur Plattform für Ideen und Projekte zu sein, sondern eine direkten und produktive Auseinandersetzung über Fragen und Probleme zu ermöglichen, welche die Teilnehmer/innen in der Arbeit an und mit diesen Ideen bzw. im Rahmen entsprechender Projekte beschäftigen.

Leiterin der Tagung ist Dr.Verena Kuni, Professorin für Visuelle Kultur an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main.

interfiction

Interdisziplinäre Workshoptagung interfiction
Verena Kuni (Sektionsleitung)
Interdisziplinäre Workshoptagung interfiction