junges dokfest: A38 Production-Grant Kassel-Halle

The junges dokfest: A38 Production-Grant Kassel-Halle is aimed at up-and-coming filmmakers who address a young audience with their work. The scholar is supposed to be supported in his/her career and encouraged to conceptualize and realize a new cinematographic work. The grant receiver is free to choose the topic of the work to be produced, whereby it should in interest and delight the young audience. Ideally, it can be used for artistic and media educational work with adolescents.

Up to 20 works from the festival program will be nominated for the grant. Part of the jury is last year's winner, the sponsors, and three adolescents who assess whether the film appeals to a young audience. 

The grant is awarded from the long-term cooperation partners Kassel Dokfest, Werkleitz – Center for Media Art, the Medienanstalt Sachsen-Anhalt and the Regulatory Authority for Commercial Broadcasting in Hesse. The four “mentors” stand for the promotion of cultural cinematic works and media art as well as for teaching media literacy. The scholarship is endowed with 4,000 € for accommodation and travel costs. Additionally, the grant receiver is granted another 4,000 € allowances in kind, which can, for example, be used for HD production equipment (camera, editing, etc.) at Werkleitz – Center for Media Art, which also provides professional and logistical advice. (For more information: www.werkleitz.de.)

2,000€ of the support for travel and accommodation will be paid out directly after the festival. The other half will be paid out on presentation of an exposé or the beginning of production.

Jury

Jana Keuchel a Leipzig based filmmaker and artist. Her documentary film „Last Year in Utopia“ premiered in the main competition at CPH:DOX, received the Basler Film Award and has been screened i.a. at Sheffield Doc/Fest and the film festival Max Ophüls Preis and „365 Tage Dokumentarfilm – Das Kasseler Dokfest das ganze Jahr präsent“. She worked as a lecturer at Bauhaus-University Weimar, Liberia Film Institute, Werkleitz Centre for Media Art, University Basel and is member of the film collective „Filmische Initiative Leipzig“.

Christian Klisan studied Culture- and Media Education in Merseburg, Saxony. After graduating in 2005 he worked as a freelance media educator and in film for German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Federal Agency for Civic Education. Since 2007 he works for the Media Authority of Saxony Anhalt (MSA) organizing the project “Medienmobil”.

Armin Ruda after studying Political Science, English and Public Law he worked as a journalist, managing director and senior editor at the commercial local TV station INTV. In 1997 he took over the management of the open TV channel in Kassel. He is currently chairman of the Federal Association of Citizens Media BVBM and has been member of the jury for the German Citizens Media Award as well as for several film festivals. At the University of Kassel he teaches the practical seminar "Basics of Video Journalism".

Ben Voit studied Applied Media Sciences at TU Ilmenau and the courses Shooting Shorts and Photojournalism at LTU Melbourne. He works as a freelance filmmaker and has travelled more than 30 countries shooting photo essays. Currently he studies feature and documentary film directing at the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF. His recent film NIGHT UPON KEPLER 452b is running in competition at numerous international festivals, got nominated for best short film of the year at the German Film Critics Awards and won the A38 Production-Grant of the 35th Kassel Dokfest.


Youth Jury

Salman Aminis name of Persian origin and means something like "the peaceful one". He is 19 years old and in grade 12. He likes many forms of films and thinks it is sad that not all films get the same attention and recognition. He also complains that not all ethnic groups are equally represented in mainstream cinema. To be a juror now is an adventure for him because he admires the work of those who use images and sound to try to express their opinions and break down prejudices.

Elisabeth Rehborn is 18 years old and in the thirteenth grade at the Jacob Grimm Schule. Her main classes are art and English. She always enjoyed making things herself. Since her childhood she has been sewing and she likes to explore nature with her analog camera. The different forms of art as well as the artists themselves are of great interest to her. She finds it exciting that film combines many arts and is therefore an extremely multi-layered medium which also enables artists to work as a team.

Florentine Wiesmann is 18 years old and attending the Jacob Grimm School in the thirteenth grade. She doesn’t have much contact with many of the media, as she doesn't own a mobile phone or any other electronic device, but her interest in films and cinemas is all the greater. She loves to go to an open-air cinema in the summer evenings or to one of the cinemas in Kassel if there is a discussion afterwards. Because even more exciting for her than watching the films are the discussions about them.


Award Winners

2019: Ben Voit: Night upon Kepler 452b

2018 Elisa Jule Braun: Killing Four Birds With One Arrow

2017 Reber Dosky: Radio Kobanî

2016 Benjamin Kahlmeyer: Eisen

2015 Khaldiya Jibawi: Another Kind of Girl

2014 Guido Hendrikx: Escort

2013 Patrick Richter: Neununddreißig

2012 Marc Schmidt: De Regels van Matthijs

2011 Léo Médard: Tao m'a dit…

2010 Kara Blake: The Delian Mode

2009 Hannes Lang: Leavenworth, WA

2008 Joanna Rytel: To Think Things You Don’t Want to

2007 Anne-Kristin Jahn: Generation Model

2006 Jürgen Brügger, Jörg Haaßengier: Kopfende Haßloch

2005 Curtis Burz: VIRGINia

2004 Britt Dunse: Norden

2003 Benny Nemerofsky Ramsay: Live to tell

2002 Oliver Husain: Q

2001 Florian Thalhofer: Korsakow Syndrom

junges dokfest A38-Produktions-Stipendium Kassel-Halle

Das junges dokfest: A38-Produktions-Stipendium Kassel-Halle richtet sich an Nachwuchsfilmemacher*innen, die mit ihrer Arbeit ein junges Publikum ansprechen. Die Stipendiatin/der Stipendiat soll in ihrem/seinem Werdegang unterstützt und ermutigt werden, ein neues filmisches Werk zu konzeptionieren und zu realisieren. Das Thema des neuen Films kann frei gewählt werden, sollte jedoch möglichst einen regionalen Bezug haben. Das neue filmische Werk sollte ein junges Publikum interessieren und begeistern. Im besten Fall ist es zudem für die künstlerisch-medienpädagogische Arbeit mit Jugendlichen einsetzbar.

Aus dem Festivalprogramm werden bis zu 20 Filme für das Stipendium nominiert. In der Vergabejury sind neben dem/der Gewinner*in des Vorjahres sowie der Preisstifter drei Jugendliche vertreten, die mitbeurteilen werden, ob der jeweilige Film auch ein junges Publikum anspricht.

Das Stipendium wird von den langjährigen Kooperationspartnern Kasseler Dokfest, Werkleitz – Zentrum für Medienkunst, der Medienanstalt Sachsen-Anhalt (MSA) und der Hessischen Landesanstalt für privaten Rundfunk und neue Medien (LPR Hessen) vergeben. Die vier „Paten“ stehen für die Förderung kultureller filmischer Werke, für Medienkunst wie auch für die Vermittlung von Medienkompetenz. Das Stipendium ist mit 4.000 € Unterhalts- und Reisekosten ausgestattet. Der Preisträgerin/dem Preisträger stehen darüber hinaus für die Produktion der audiovisuellen Arbeit bei Werkleitz – Zentrum für Medienkunst in Halle Sachleistungen von bis zu 4.000 € in Form von modernstem HD-Produktionsequipment (Kamera, Schnittplatz etc.) sowie die entsprechende technische Betreuung und logistische Beratung zur Verfügung. (Weitere Informationen dazu unter: www.werkleitz.de)


Von den Unterhalts- und Reisekosten werden nach dem Festival 2.000 € direkt ausgezahlt. Die anderen 2.000 € werden bei Vorlage eines Exposés bzw. bei Produktionsbeginn ausgeschüttet. 


Jury

Jana Keuchel arbeitet als Filmemacherin und Künstlerin in Leipzig. Ihr Dokumentarfilm „Letztes Jahr in Utopia“ feierte Premiere im Hauptwettbewerb des CPH:DOX, gewann den Basler Filmpreis und wurde unter anderem auf dem Sheffield Doc/Fest und dem Filmfestival Max Ophüls Preis aufgeführt und war in der Reihe „365 Tage Dokumentarfilm – Das Kasseler Dokfest das ganze Jahr präsent“ zu sehen. Sie unterrichtete an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, dem Liberia Film Institute, dem Werkleitz Zentrum für Medienkunst, der Universität Basel und ist Mitglied des Filmkollektivs „Filmische Initiative Leipzig“.

Christian Klisan studierte Kultur- und Medienpädagogik in Merseburg. Nach seinem Abschluss 2005 arbeitete er zwei Jahre in der Projektarbeit als freischaffender Medienpädagoge und Filmschaffender, u.a. für die Kulturstiftung des Bundes und die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung. Seit 2007 ist er für die Medienanstalt Sachsen-Anhalt tätig und gestaltet dort das Projekt „Medienmobil“.

Armin Ruda studierte Politikwissenschaft, Englisch und Öffentliches Recht bevor er zuerst als Journalist, dann auch als Geschäftsführer und Chefredakteur im lokalen Fernsehsender INTV tätig war. Seit 1997 leitet er den Offenen Kanal in Kassel. Er ist außerdem Vorsitzender des Bundesverbandes Bürgermedien (BVBM) und war bereits als Juror für verschiedene Filmfestivals und Wettbewerbe tätig. An der Universität Kassel unterrichtet Armin Ruda das Praxisseminar „Grundlagen des Videojournalismus“.

Ben Voit studierte Angewandte Medienwissenschaften an der TU Ilmenau, sowie Kurzfilmproduktion und Fotojournalismus an der LTU Melbourne. Er arbeitet als freischaffender Filmemacher und fotografierte in über 30 Ländern. Aktuell studiert er Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmregie an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF. Sein Film „Nacht Ueber Kepler 452b“ läuft im Wettbewerb zahlreicher internationaler Festivals und wurde vom Verband der deutschen Filmkritik zum besten Kurzfilm des Jahres nominiert und gewann beim 36. Kasseler Dokfest das A38-Produktions-Stipendium.


Jugendjury

Salman Aminis Name ist persischer Herkunft und bedeutet in etwa „der Friedliche“. Sein Vorname stammt von einem Propheten, jedoch ist er gebürtiger Deutscher. Er ist 19 Jahre alt und geht in die 12. Klasse. Er findet es schade, dass nicht alle Filme die gleiche Aufmerksamkeit und Anerkennung erhalten und dass immer noch nicht alle Ethnien gleichberechtigt im Kino vertreten sind. Nun Juror sein zu können, ist für ihn weil er die Arbeit jener, die mit Bild und Ton versuchen, ihre Meinung auszudrücken ein Abenteuer.

Elisabeth Rehborn ist 18 Jahre alt und in der 13. Klasse der Jacob-Grimm-Schule. Ihre Leistungskurse sind Kunst und Englisch. Schon immer hat sie Dinge gerne selbst gestaltet. Sie ist mit ihrer analogen Kamera oft in der Natur unterwegs. Unterschiedliche Ausdrucksformen der Kunst sowie Künstler*innen und ihre Lebensläufe interessieren sie sehr. Am Film findet sie spannend, dass er viele Künste vereint und somit ein äußerst vielschichtiges Medium ist, das Teamarbeit ermöglicht.

Florentine Wiesmann ist 18 Jahre alt und besucht auf der Jacob-Grimm-Schule die 13.Klasse. Mit Medien kommt sie nicht stark in Kontakt, weil sie keine elektronischen Geräte besitzt, aber dafür ist ihr Interesse an Filmen und Kinos umso größer. Die findet sie wirklich super, am liebsten geht sie abends im Sommer in das Open Air Kino oder in eines der Kinos in Kassel, wenn es dort eine anschließende Diskussion gibt. Denn noch mehr Spaß, als die Filme zu gucken, bereiten ihr die Gespräche über diese.


Preisträger*innen

2019 Ben Voit: Nacht Ueber Kepler 452b

2018 Elisa Jule Braun: Killing Four Birds With One Arrow

2017 Reber Dosky: Radio Kobanî

2016 Benjamin Kahlmeyer: Eisen

2015 Khaldiya Jibawi: Another Kind of Girl

2014 Guido Hendrikx: Escort

2013 Patrick Richter: Neununddreißig

2012 Marc Schmidt: De Regels van Matthijs

2011 Léo Médard: Tao m'a dit…

2010 Kara Blake: The Delian Mode

2009 Hannes Lang: Leavenworth, WA

2008 Joanna Rytel: To Think Things You Don’t Want to

2007 Anne-Kristin Jahn: Generation Model

2006 Jürgen Brügger, Jörg Haaßengier: Kopfende Haßloch

2005 Curtis Burz: VIRGINia

2004 Britt Dunse: Norden

2003 Benny Nemerofsky Ramsay: Live to tell

2002 Oliver Husain: Q

2001 Florian Thalhofer: Korsakow Syndrom