The Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival understands itself as a lively forum for the presentation and discussion of documentary work. The extraordinary significance of the younger generation of filmmakers is underlined by the Golden Key award endowed with 5,000 € in total, divided in 2,500 € for the best documentary short film up to 66 minutes and 2,500 € for the best documentary feature film of more than 66 minutes.

The Golden Key is sponsored by the City of Kassel. Documentary films and videos of all formats and lengths, whose directors were not older than 35 years at the time of the completion of the work, are eligible. The selection committees can decide about exceptions to this rule and nominate around 20 works for this award.

The Golden Key is listed as an officially authorized competition by the German Federal Film Board (FFA). Films with a duration of up to 30 minutes can collect five points to apply for financial support of the FFA by participating in the competition.

Jury

Markus Fiedler is a Hamburg based filmmaker and psychologist. For twenty years he works in the field of documentaries and essay films as a director, cinematographer and editor. Fiedler's artistic approach to his work is orientated towards the reciprocal relation between the filmmaker and the protagonists, concerning the process of filmmaking itself as well as its product. He represents a collective of directors that won last year's edition of the Golden Key with the film Cast Away Souls.

Volko Kamensky is a filmmaker, visual artist and author. He teaches and researches on Theory and Practice of Film and is co-editor of the anthologies "Ton. Texts on acoustics in Documentary" (Berlin 2013) and "Daniele Huillet, Jean-Marie Straub: Writings" (Berlin 2020). Since 2019 he is part of the team of the dokumentarfilmwoche Hamburg.

Anca Paunescu was born in Romania and graduated in German Philology and Documentary film at the Prague Film School. Paunescu has worked as a director and cinematographer on several documentary and promotional films screened at numerous European film festivals. She currently is the main programmer for documentary film at the Neisse Film Festival, Germany; preselector of feature documentaries for the DokuFest International Film Festival Prizren, and for FIPADOC International Documentary Festival.

Susanne Völker (non-partisan) has been Head of the Department of Culture of the City of Kassel since 2017. Prior to this, the art historian and cultural manager was entrusted with the project management of GRIMMWELT Kassel. In 2015 she successfully opened the internationally renowned house as founding director, which she managed until 2018. She studied art history, philosophy, law and museum management in Hamburg and Vienna. She represents an approach of transdisciplinary and participatory cultural policy.


Helena Wittmann originally studied Spanish and Media Studies in Erlangen and Hamburg. She then continued at The Academy of Fine Arts Hamburg (HFBK) where she graduated. Her films, among them her debut feature film DRIFT (2017), had been shown internationally and received several awards. She taught at HFBK from 2015 to 2018 and is currently mentoring at Elías Querejeta Zine Eskola in Spain. She is responsible for the cinematography of several films by other authors.



Award winners

2019 Feature Film: Jialing Zhang und Nanfu Wang: One Child Nation

2019 Shortfilm: Markus Fiedler, Nanna Katrine Hansen, Thomas Elsted and Stanley Edwards: Cast Away Souls

2018 Feature Film: Jasmin Preiß: Sweet Meadow

2018 Shortfilm: Agnes Lisa Wegner: No Fucking Ice Cream

2017 Ziad Kalthoum: Taste of Cement

2016 Ognjen Glavonic: Dubina Dva

2015 Mea de Jong: If Mama Ain't Happy, Nobody's Happy

2014 Leslie Tai: The Private Life of Fenfen

2013 Gabriel Serra: La parka

2012 Antoine Bourges: East Hastings Pharmacy

2011 Carmen Losmann: Work Hard - Play Hard

2010 Viera Cákanyová: Alda

2009 Thomas A. Østbye: Human

2008 Mario Hirasaka: Die Ryozanpaku

2007 Jess Feast: Cowboys & Communists

2006 Sarah Vanagt: Begin Began Begun

2005 Susanne Jaeger: Vater und Feind

2004 Alexandra Gulea: Die Daumendreher (GOD PLAYS SAX; THE DEVIL VIOLIN)

2003 Sandra Jakisch: 08/15 – Leben am Rand von Köln

2002 Klaus Stern: Andreas Baader- Der Staatsfeind

Goldener Schlüssel


Das Kasseler Dokumentarfilm- und Videofest versteht sich als lebendiges Forum für die Präsentation und Diskussion des dokumentarischen Schaffens. Den besonderen Stellenwert, den der filmische Nachwuchs dabei einnimmt, verdeutlicht der durch die Stadt Kassel geförderte Preis Goldener Schlüssel in Höhe von insgesamt 5.000 € die sich teilen in jeweils 2.500 € für den besten dokumentarischen Kurzfilm bis 66 Minuten und den besten dokumentarischen Langfilm ab 66 Minuten. Teilnahmeberechtigt sind dokumentarische Arbeiten aller Film- und Videoformate und Längen, deren Regisseur*innen zum Zeitpunkt der Fertigstellung nicht älter als 35 Jahre waren. Über Ausnahmefälle entscheiden die Auswahlkommissionen. Sie nominieren aus dem Festivalprogramm Arbeiten für diesen Preis.

Der Goldene Schlüssel ist als offiziell anerkannter Wettbewerb der Filmförderungsanstalt (FFA) gelistet. Filme mit einer Laufzeit von bis zu 30 Minuten können durch die Teilnahme am Wettbewerb um den Goldenen Schlüssel 5 Punkte für die Referenzfilmförderung sammeln.

Jury

Markus Fiedler ist ein in Hamburg lebender Filmemacher und Psychologe. Seit zwanzig Jahren arbeitet er im Bereich des Dokumentar- und Essayfilms als Regisseur, Kameramann und Cutter. Fiedlers künstlerische Herangehensweise an sein Werk orientiert sich an der wechselseitigen Beziehung zwischen dem Filmemacher und den Protagonist*innen, sowohl was den Prozess des Filmemachens selbst als auch sein Produkt betrifft. Er vertritt ein Regiekollektiv, das im vergangenen Jahr mit dem Film „Cast Away Souls“ den Goldenen Schlüssel gewann.

Volko Kamensky ist Filmemacher, bildender Künstler und Autor. Er lehrt und forscht zur Theorie und Praxis des Films und ist Mitherausgeber der Sammelbände „Ton. Texte zur Akustik im Dokumentarfilm“ (Berlin 2013) und „Daniele Huillet, Jean-Marie Straub: Schriften“ (Berlin 2020). Seit 2019 ist er Teil des Teams der dokumentarfilmwoche hamburg.

Anca Paunescu wurde in Rumänien geboren und studierte Germanistik und Dokumentarfilm an der Prager Filmschule. Sie hat als Regisseurin und Kamerafrau an mehreren Dokumentar- und Werbefilmen gearbeitet, die auf zahlreichen europäischen Filmfestivals gezeigt wurden. Gegenwärtig ist sie Hauptprogrammgestalterin für den Bereich Dokumentarfilm beim Neiße Filmfestival, in der Vorauswahl des dokumentarischen Langfilm für das DokuFest International Film Festival Prizren und für das FIPADOC International Documentary Festival.

Susanne Völker (parteilos) ist seit 2017 Kulturdezernentin der Stadt Kassel. Zuvor war die Kunsthistorikerin und Kulturmanagerin mit der Projektleitung der GRIMMWELT Kassel betraut. 2015 konnte sie das international renommierte Haus erfolgreich als Gründungsdirektorin eröffnen, dass sie bis 2018 leitete. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte, Philosophie, Jura und Museumsmanagement in Hamburg und Wien. Sie vertritt einen Ansatz der transdisziplinären und partizipativen Kulturpolitik.

Helena Wittmann studierte Spanisch und Theater- und Medienwissenschaften in Erlangen und Hamburg, bevor sie die Hochschule für bildende Künste (HFBK) in Hamburg besuchte, an der sie ihren Abschluss machte. Ihre Arbeiten, darunter ihr Debütfilm DRIFT (2017), wurden international gezeigt und ausgezeichnet. Von 2015 bis 2018 war sie künstlerisch-wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin von Angela Schanelec an der HFBK Hamburg und seit 2019 arbeitet sie als Mentorin an der Elías Querejeta Zine Eskola in Spanien. Für zahlreiche Filme hat sie als Kamerafrau gearbeitet.


Preisträger*innen

2019 Langfilm: Jialing Zhang und Nanfu Wang: One Child Nation

2019 Kurzfilm: Markus Fiedler, Nanna Katrine Hansen, Thomas Elsted und Stanley Edwards : Cast Away Souls

2018 Langfilm: Jasmin Preiß: Diese süße Wiese

2018 Kurzfilm: Agnes Lisa Wegner: No Fucking Ice Cream

2017 Ziad Kalthoum: Taste of Cement

2016 Ognjen Glavonic: Dubina Dva

2015 Mea de Jong: If Mama Ain't Happy, Nobody's Happy

2014 Leslie Tai: The Private Life of Fenfen

2013 Gabriel Serra: La parka

2012 Antoine Bourges: East Hastings Pharmacy

2011 Carmen Losmann: Work Hard - Play Hard

2010 Viera Cákanyová: Alda

2009 Thomas A. Østbye: Human

2008 Mario Hirasaka: Die Ryozanpaku

2007 Jess Feast: Cowboys & Communists

2006 Sarah Vanagt: Begin Began Begun

2005 Susanne Jaeger: Vater und Feind

2004 Alexandra Gulea: Die Daumendreher (GOD PLAYS SAX; THE DEVIL VIOLIN)

2003 Sandra Jakisch: 08/15 – Leben am Rand von Köln

2002 Klaus Stern: Andreas Baader- Der Staatsfeind