junges dokfest: A38 Production-Grant Kassel-Halle

The junges dokfest: A38 Production-Grant Kassel-Halle is aimed at up-and-coming filmmakers who address a young audience with their work. The scholar is supposed to be supported in his/her career and encouraged to conceptualize and realize a new cinematographic work. The grant receiver is free to choose the topic of the work to be produced, whereby it should in interest and delight the young audience. Ideally, it can be used for artistic and media educational work with adolescents.

Up to 20 works from the festival program will be nominated for the grant. Part of the jury is last year's winner, the sponsors, and three adolescents who assess whether the film appeals to a young audience. 

The grant is awarded from the long-term cooperation partners Kassel Dokfest, Werkleitz – Center for Media Art, the Medienanstalt Sachsen-Anhalt and the Regulatory Authority for Commercial Broadcasting in Hesse. The four “mentors” stand for the promotion of cultural cinematic works and media art as well as for teaching media literacy. The scholarship is endowed with 4,000 € for accommodation and travel costs. Additionally, the grant receiver is granted another 4,000 € allowances in kind, which can, for example, be used for HD production equipment (camera, editing, etc.) at Werkleitz – Center for Media Art, which also provides professional and logistical advice. (For more information: www.werkleitz.de.)

2,000€ of the support for travel and accommodation will be paid out directly after the festival. The other half will be paid out on presentation of an exposé or the beginning of production.

Award Winners

2019: Ben Voit: Night upon Kepler 452b

2018 Elisa Jule Braun: Killing Four Birds With One Arrow

2017 Reber Dosky: Radio Kobanî

2016 Benjamin Kahlmeyer: Eisen

2015 Khaldiya Jibawi: Another Kind of Girl

2014 Guido Hendrikx: Escort

2013 Patrick Richter: Neununddreißig

2012 Marc Schmidt: De Regels van Matthijs

2011 Léo Médard: Tao m'a dit…

2010 Kara Blake: The Delian Mode

2009 Hannes Lang: Leavenworth, WA

2008 Joanna Rytel: To Think Things You Don’t Want to

2007 Anne-Kristin Jahn: Generation Model

2006 Jürgen Brügger, Jörg Haaßengier: Kopfende Haßloch

2005 Curtis Burz: VIRGINia

2004 Britt Dunse: Norden

2003 Benny Nemerofsky Ramsay: Live to tell

2002 Oliver Husain: Q

2001 Florian Thalhofer: Korsakow Syndrom