Golden Hercules


Regional Competition

Eligible for the competition:

• works whose director’s place of residence is in Northern Hesse or

• works whose directors study at the University of Kassel, the School of Art and Design Kassel or a comparable institution in Northern Hesse or

• works that were realized and produced in Northern Hesse.

The competition for the Golden Hercules is open to all formats and genres presentable on screen. The prize is sponsored by the Machbar GmbH, an agency for corporate communication with its head office in Kassel, and endowed with 3,500 €. 

Out of all films that fulfil at least one of the above-mentioned criteria, the selection committee nominates works for the Golden Hercules. An nomination for exceptional documentary works from the Golden Hercules for the Golden Key competition is possible.

Jury

Volker Beller was a founding member of Randfilm in 2014 and has been chairman of the association for promotion of off-the-side film culture since 2020. After his studies, he worked on the conception and construction of K19 at the University of Kassel. As a cultural consultant, he developed various forms of cultural mediation. Since then, he has organized events in very different locations and he has headed the artist agency antistars since 2005. After 2015 he has focused on his duties at Randfilm.

Clemens Camphausen is one of the managing directors of the Machbar GmbH, Agency for Promotion and Design. Furthermore, he is guiding through the opening ceremony of Kassel Dokfest.

Bettina Fraschke is one of the editors of the Hessischen/Niedersächsischen Allgemeinen Zeitung. She writes for the department of culture about film and theatre.

Gitta Severloh is an editor for the Hessischen Rundfunk (Hessian broadcasting). She was the editor of “aspekte“(ZDF) and worked as a film author, editor, moderator and producer for multiple formats in TV stations in Germany (SWR, SFB, 3sat, DW-tv). Since 2003 she has been living in Frankfurt where she successfully produced the cultural magazine titel, thesen, temperamente (ARD) for15 years. She used to be a jury member of the German literature prize Geschwister-Scholl and worked as a reporter for Berlinale film festival with a focus on documentary film.

Franziska Wank studied Visual Communication in class of Film and Moving Image at the School of Art and Design Kassel. Her film work deals with social contructs and switches between essay and documentary genre. Further she was part of the Hessian University Film Day and was curator of the video section of Kassel Art Fair. For SONDAYMORNING she won the Golden Hercules at 36th Kassel Dokfest.


Award Winners

2019 Franziska Wank: sunday morning

2018 Frauke Lodders: Inseparable

2017 Jonatan Schwenk: Sog

2016 Christian Wittmoser: Emily Must Wait

2015 Zuniel Kim: Der Langstreckenläufer

2014 Martin Schmidt: Emil

2013 Benjamin Brix, Steffen Martin, Felix M. Ott: EMPTYLANDS

2012 Jan Riesenbeck: Sechster Sinn, drittes Auge, zweites Gesicht

2011 Dennis Stein-Schomburg: Andersartig

2010 Olaf Saumer: Suicide Club

2009 Thomas Majewski: Verborgen in Schnuttenbach

2008 Nico Sommer: Stiller Frühling

2007 Marta Malowanczyk: Marla

2006 Hyekung Jung: Drawing the Line

2005 Matthias Stockloew (Ütz): Grosse Kinder

2004 Héctor Jesús Gutiérrez Rodriguez: Ese es mi chama? Das ist mein Junge

2003 Salah Ahmed El Oulidi: Die Andalusische Nacht

2002 Christoph Steinau: Kommt alles Anders

2001 Holger Ernst: Kleine Fische

Goldener Herkules

Regionaler Wettbewerb

Der Wettbewerb um den Goldenen Herkules ist offen für alle auf Leinwand präsentierbaren Formate und Genres. Der von der Machbar GmbH, einer Agentur für Unternehmenskommunikation mit Hauptsitz in Kassel, gestiftete Preis ist mit 3.500 € dotiert.

Zugelassen für den regionalen Wettbewerb sind Arbeiten:

• deren Regisseur*innen ihren Wohnsitz in Nordhessen haben oder

• deren Regisseur*innen ein Studium an der Universität Kassel, der Kunsthochschule Kassel bzw. einer vergleichbaren Medieneinrichtung in Nordhessen absolvieren oder

• die in Nordhessen realisiert und produziert wurden.

Aus allen Arbeiten die in der Sektion Goldener Herkules laufen, nominiert eine Jury eine Auswahl für den Preis. Eine Nominierung von überragenden dokumentarischen Arbeiten aus dem Wettbewerb um den Goldenen Herkules für den Goldenen Schlüssel ist möglich.

Jury

Volker Beller war 2014 Gründungsmitglied von Randfilm und fungiert seit 2020 als Vorsitzender des Vereins zur Förderung abseitiger Filmkultur. Nach dem Studium arbeitete er an Konzeption und Aufbau des K19 an der Universität Kassel. Als Kulturreferent entwickelte er diverse Formen der Kulturvermittlung. Seit dieser Zeit organisiert er Veranstaltungen an den unterschiedlichsten Orten und leitete seit 2005 die Künstleragentur antistars. Seit 2016 fokussiert er sich auf seine Aufgaben bei Randfilm.

Clemens Camphausen ist einer der Geschäftsführer der Machbar GmbH, Agentur für Werbung und Design. Er führt zudem durch den Eröffnungsabend des Kasseler Dokfestes.

Bettina Fraschke ist als Redakteurin der Hessischen/Niedersächsischen Allgemeinen Zeitung im Kulturressort zuständig für Film und Theater.

Gitta Severloh ist TV-Redakteurin beim Hessischen Rundfunk. In Berlin war sie als Redakteurin für aspekte beim ZDF tätig und hat bundesweit als Film-Autorin, Redakteurin, Moderatorin und Format-Entwicklerin (SWR, SFB, 3sat, DW-tv) gewirkt. Seit 2003 lebt sie in Frankfurt und hat dort als erfolgreiche Programm-Macherin 15 Jahre lang die ARD-Sendung titel, thesen, temperamente verantwortet. Sie war Jurymitglied des Geschwister-Scholl-Preises und berichtete als Berlinale-Reporterin mit Schwerpunkt Dokumentarfilm für DW-tv.

Franziska Wank studierte visuelle Kommunikation in der Klasse Film und bewegtes Bild an der Kunsthochschule Kassel. Ihre Videoarbeiten, die zwischen Essay und Dokumentarfilm changieren, analysieren gesellschaftliche Konstrukte. Sie war bereits für verschiedene Kulturprojekte mitverantwortlich: Unter anderem für den Hessischen Hochschulfilmtag und die Kunstmesse Kassel, bei der sie den Videosektor kuratierte. Beim 36. Kasseler Dokfest gewann sie für „Sonntagmorgen“ den Goldenen Herkules.


Preisträger*innen

2020 Manuel Domes und Jean Claire Dy: A House in Pieces

2019 Franziska Wank: Sonntagmorgen

2018 Frauke Lodders: Unzertrennlich

2017 Jonatan Schwenk: Sog

2016 Christian Wittmoser: Emily Must Wait

2015 Zuniel Kim: Der Langstreckenläufer

2014 Martin Schmidt: Emil

2013 Benjamin Brix, Steffen Martin, Felix M. Ott: EMPTYLANDS

2012 Jan Riesenbeck: Sechster Sinn, drittes Auge, zweites Gesicht

2011 Dennis Stein-Schomburg: Andersartig

2010 Olaf Saumer: Suicide Club

2009 Thomas Majewski: Verborgen in Schnuttenbach

2008 Nico Sommer: Stiller Frühling

2007 Marta Malowanczyk: Marla

2006 Hyekung Jung: Drawing the Line

2005 Matthias Stockloew (Ütz): Grosse Kinder

2004 Héctor Jesús Gutiérrez Rodriguez: Ese es mi chama? Das ist mein Junge

2003 Salah Ahmed El Oulidi: Die Andalusische Nacht

2002 Christoph Steinau: Kommt alles Anders

2001 Holger Ernst: Kleine Fische