Golden Cube

Exhibition Monitoring

The works in the exhibition Monitoring are competing for the Golden Cube for the best media installation, which is endowed with 3.500 € by the Kassel located software company Micromata GmbH. The selection committee has selected 18 works from more than 300 submissions that will be exhibited during the festival at the Kasseler Kunstverein and KulturBahnhof (Kubator, Stellwerk, Südflügel). The exhibited works will be complimented by a commissioned installation for the 40th anniversary of the festival. Between the white cube as an exhibition space for contemporary art and the black box, a presentation room for films painted black, the Golden Cube has an intermediate position in which it explicitly promotes the interplay of spatial and visual aspects of media installations.

Jury 2023

Judith Augustin, artist and designer, lives and works in Frankfurt am Main. She studied visual arts in Kassel and exhibited her videos and installations, among others, at the Kassel Dokfest. Today, she works with her agency Studio Augustin at the intersection of analog and digital creation. She is also a member of the DDC (German Design Club), Host of the DDC Women’s Tables and councilor for LGBT*IQ at the Deutscher Designtag.

John Hussain Flindt is an artist primarily working with moving image, photography and sound. He studied at Chelsea College of Arts, London from 2013 to 2016 and at the Städelschule, Frankfurt from 2018 to 2022. His video installation, “Tales” won the Golden Cube at the 39th Kassel Dokfest and was nominated for the 13th Lichter Art Award, Frankfurt.

Gila Kolb heads the research professorship subject Specific Education in the Arts at Schwyz University of Teacher Education. Main research areas and interests: drawing in art classes, strategies and agency of art educators, unlearning, conditions of post-digital art education. She is interested in anti-racist art education practice, memes as subversive practice, sustainability in relation to art education and is editor of the interview blog The Art Educator's Talk, co-editor of SFKP e-Journal Art Education Research and the participatory platform In Kassel, she conducted research on documenta art education in Kassel in 2017 and 2022.

Miriam Schickler works at the intersection of sound, research, performance and education. She is co-founder of the *foundationClass at weißensee kunsthochschule berlin. Since 2021 she works as an artistic associate at the Kunsthochschule Kassel. Her artistic and design practice developed in activist contexts and is based on collective ways of working.

Photo: Günter Kresser

Nina Tabassomi is a curator and theatre scholar. Since the beginning of 2017 she has served as Director of the TAXISPALAIS Kunsthalle Tirol. After working as a Curatorial Assistant for the large-scale exhibition based in Berlin, which took place at Berlinische Galerie, Hamburger Bahnhof, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, and the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, she went on to serve as Project Manager at KW Institute for Contemporary Art. As a curator she was responsible for the program in the medieval tower of the Fridericianum in Kassel and afterwards ran Ludlow 38, the Goethe Institute’s exhibition space in New York. She has curated, among other exhibitions, the group shows Infrastructures of Pain, Accentisms, and exhibition trilogies like for ex. Witches/Goddesses/Stories of Time. She has also been responsible for curating the first solo exhibitions of, among others, Eric Baudelaire in Germany, Emeka Ogboh in New York, and Maryam Jafri and Corita Kent in Austria.

Foto: Günter Kresser

Award Winners

2023 Tanita Olbrich: Ring

2022 John Hussain Flindt: Tales  

2021 Yuk-Yiu Ip: 流/言 [FALSE WORDS]

2020 Paula Ábalos: Diarios de Trabajos  

2019 Kapwani Kiwanga: The Secretary’s Suite

2018 Grace Philips, Laurie Robins: Real Performance

2017 Ralph Schulz: Testimonials

2016 Lotte Meret: Surface Glaze

2015 Gerald Schauder: Skulptur 21

2014 Bertrand Flanet: Unmanned Distances

2013 !Mediengruppe Bitnik: Delivery for Mr. Assange

2012 Emanuel Mathias: Nebahats Schwestern

2011 Anu Pennanen: La ruine de regard / Die Ruine des Blicks

2010 Lukas Thiele, Tilman Hatje: Weltmaschine

2009 Sophie Ernst: HOME

2008 Stefanos Tsivopoulos: Untitled (The Remake)

2007 Erik Olofsen: Public Figures

2006 Markus Bertuch: Walperloh

2005 Eske Schlüters: Knowing as much as the man in the moon

2004 Renzo Martens: Episode 1

2003 Claudia Aravena Abughosh: Greetings from Palestina