The awardees of the 36th Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival

Golden Key
The Golden Key, worth 2,500 Euros, for the most impressive short documentary by an up-and-coming filmmaker, which is supported by the city of Kassel, goes to Markus Fiedler, Nanna Katrine Hansen, Thomas Elsted, and Stanley Edwards for their film Cast Away Souls.
Félix Blume received a special mention for his short film Curupira, Bicho do Mato.

The Golden Key, worth 2,500 Euros, for the most impressive feature documentary by an up-and-coming filmmaker goes to Jialing Zhang and Nanfu Wang for their film One Child Nation.
Yashaswini Raghunandan received a special mention for her film That Cloud Never Left.

Golden Hercules
The Golden Hercules honors the best cinematic production from Northern Hesse. The prize is worth 3,500 Euros and is sponsored by the Machbar GmbH, Kassel. This traditional prize of the Kassel Dokfest goes to Franziska Wank for her film sunday morning.
Sarah Hüther and Sita Scherer receive a special mention for At the Margin.

junges dokfest: A38 – Produktions-Stipendium Kassel-Halle
The junges dokfest: A38 – Produktions-Stipendium Kassel-Halle goes to Ben Voit for his film Night upon Kepler 452b.
This scholarship is supported by the LPR Hessen (Hesse Regulatory Authority for Commercial Broadcasting and New Media) and the Media Institute of Saxony-Anhalt to the amount of up to 4,000 Euros for accommodation and travel expenses, and is awarded in collaboration with Werkleitz – Zentrum für Medienkunst, with up to 4,000 Euros (allowance in kind).

Golden Cube
The Golden Cube for the best installation of the exhibition Monitoring, donated by Kassel software company Micromata GmbH, which is endowed with 3,500 Euros, is awarded to Kapwani Kiwanga for The Secretary’s Suite.
Clarissa Thieme receives a special mention for You See Them? – Repeat.

Honorary Award
This year the honorary award, endowed with 3.000 Euro, is awarded to the renowned artist and filmmaker Jan Peters. The prize is donated by the Kassel based company Hübner GmbH & Co. KG.