junges dokfest: A38 Production-Grant Kassel-Halle

For the grant, the selection committee of the festival nominates works from the festival program, primarily from the junges dokfest section. In addition to that, three adolescents are part of the jury to assess, whether the films appeal to a young audience. The grant aims to promote artistic films and media talents and to give a young audience an understanding of documentaries. This requires not only an interest in the genre but also an understanding of the specific visual language as a form of media literacy. The promotion of these skills is the goal of the project junges dokfest, which was established in 2009.

The grant is awarded from the long-term cooperation partners Kassel Dokfest, Werkleitz – Center for Media Art, the Medienanstalt Sachsen-Anhalt and the Regulatory Authority for Commercial Broadcasting in Hesse. The four “mentors” stand for the promotion of cultural cinematic works and media art as well as for teaching media literacy. The scholarship, which lasts for up to two months, is endowed with 4,000 € for accommodation and travel costs. Additionally, the grant receiver is granted another 4,000 € allowance in kind, which can for example be used for modern HD production equipment (camera, editing, etc.) at Werkleitz – Center for Media Art, which also provides professional and logistical advice. For more information: www.werkleitz.de. The grant receiver is free to choose the topic of the work to be produced, whereby the new cinematographic work should in particular interest and delight the young audience. Ideally it can be used for the artistic and media educational work with adolescents.

Award Winners

2018 Elisa Jule Braun: Killing Four Birds With One Arrow

2017 Reber Dosky: Radio Kobanî

2016 Benjamin Kahlmeyer: Eisen

2015 Khaldiya Jibawi: Another Kind of Girl

2014 Guido Hendrikx: Escort

2013 Patrick Richter: Neununddreißig

2012 Marc Schmidt: De Regels van Matthijs

2011 Léo Médard: Tao m'a dit…

2010 Kara Blake: The Delian Mode

2009 Hannes Lang: Leavenworth, WA

2008 Joanna Rytel: To Think Things You Don’t Want to

2007 Anne-Kristin Jahn: Generation Model

2006 Jürgen Brügger, Jörg Haaßengier: Kopfende Haßloch

2005 Curtis Burz: VIRGINia

2004 Britt Dunse: Norden

2003 Benny Nemerofsky Ramsay: Live to tell

2002 Oliver Husain: Q

2001 Florian Thalhofer: Korsakow Syndrom