Listening Comprehension


KulturBahnhof Kassel

+DokfestOnline Buy streaming ticket

Language as the dominant reference system in our communication, creates expression, connection and structures identities. What we see, is what we read, is what we hear? Not at all. Meanings often arise in the difference. Reading-hearing negotiates the deconstruction and rearrangement of text-based systems of meaning, coded modes of communication and cinematic languages of the in-between.

A still frame of an elderly woman – serious and pensive. She tries with difficulty to recall a few words of a language which is familiar to her ears, her native language: Assyrian. The subject of the film, which initially concentrates on the loss of memory related to old age, gradually shifts to focus on memories: moments of a shared childhood, moments of joy and pride linked to a language which is passed on intuitively from mother to daughter.… >>>

  • +DokfestOnline
  • Duration: 8 Min.
  • Premiere: World Premiere
  • Nominated: A38-Production Grant Kassel-Halle
    • Director: Meggy Rustamova

    MУЛЬTITASK exploits language as a predestined linear system that influences and limits us within the way we think, communicate and interact with our surroundings. MУЛЬTITASK is an attempt to reveal the immense impact our learned cultural background and identity has on us as a social being, especially for our future ability to develop new strategies of designing a stable open minded society. MУЛЬTITASK invites to witness the magic of breaking rules, dismantling tradition and creating disorder in language, typography and identity with the aim to overcome stereotypes, geographical borders and cultural boundaries within ourselves.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Duration: 3 Min.
  • Premiere: Europe Premiere
    • Director: Ksti Hu

    TRUST STUDY #1 reproduces an interview with a worker in the informal banking system known as "hawala." The film presents its own making, where the construct of the interview plays with the role of record-keeping, phone calls, kinship networks, and memory within the hawala banking system. The text of the film sits between a document of the conversation and an unvoiced script for a film. Nostalgic travel images of Pakistan in the 60s serve as background to the text and over the course of the film their provenance is slowly revealed, only making their significance more opaque. "Trust Study #1" is a negotiation between the filmmaker and the anonymous hawala banker.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Duration: 15 Min.
  • Premiere: Europe Premiere
    • Director: Shobun Baile

    /George Perec’s radio play Die Maschine (1968) is about a computer that analyzes Goethe’s poem “Wanderers Nachtlied”. The poem only covers 8 lines and no more than 24 words (in German). In the play the poem is not studied artistically but is systematically analysed by a computer in an attempt to reveal the inner mechanism of poetry. The film visually plays with the irony of the analysis and with the soul of the poem and is a modern ode to Perec's play. Digitisation does not unravel truth, it makes the magic of reality greater. And no matter how rational and analytical you want to act, beauty and death remain deep and raw emotions.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Duration: 16 Min.
  • Premiere: German Premiere
    • Director: Marieke van der Lippe

    TERRITORIAL FIGHT follows a student and her mentor through various vocal and speech exercises. A documentary self-experiment on language and power. What does it mean to be taught in relation to body, language and space? This question unfolds countless aspects: hierarchies, credibility, submission, self-esteem, self-disolving, the wish to dominate, to grow beyond yourself.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Duration: 9 Min.
    • Director: Sarah Hablützel, Marko Mijatovic

    Two young women are talking in a car on the highway. Or are they characters from a TV show? Are they really talking to each other? You don't have to be alone to feel isolated.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Duration: 7 Min.
  • Premiere: German Premiere
    • Director: Anastasia Melia Eleftheriou

    On March 30, 1999, the filmmaker's late father, who worked far from home as a factory security guard in Dongguan, had sent his very last letter to his family. He dies of an accident a few days later being only 36 years old. His son remembers him learning Cantonese, hoping to stand a chance of landing a job in Guangdong. In 2020, he will turn 36 himself. Carrying his father’s last letter, he returned to where he lived before his death (Duangguan). He divides his message into 36 segments and invites 36 security guards who work in the city to teach him how to read them in Cantonese.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Duration: 17 Min.
  • Premiere: Europe Premiere
  • Nominated: Goldener Key
    • Director: Binyuan Li

Lese- Hörverständnis


KulturBahnhof Kassel

+DokfestOnline Jetzt Streaming-Ticket kaufen

Sprache als dominantes Referenzsystem in unserer Kommunikation, schafft Ausdruck, Verbindung und strukturiert Identitäten. Was wir sehen, ist was wir lesen, ist was wir hören? Eben nicht. Bedeutungen entstehen oftmals in der Differenz. Lese-Hörverständnis verhandelt die Dekonstruktion und Neuanordnung von textbasierten Bedeutungssystemen, codierten Kommunikationsweisen und filmische Sprachen des Dazwischens. (Djamila Grandits)

Babel

Das Standbild einer älteren Frau – ernst und nachdenklich. Mit Mühe versucht sie sich an einige Worte einer Sprache zu erinnern, die ihren Ohren vertraut ist, ihrer Muttersprache: Assyrisch. Ursprünglich thematisiert der Film altersbedingten Gedächtnisverlust, verlagert aber im Verlauf seinen Fokus auf Erinnerungen: gemeinsame Kindheitserinnerungen, Momente von Freude und Stolz, verbunden mit einer Sprache, die intuitiv von Mutter zu Tochter weitergegeben werden.… >>>

  • +DokfestOnline
  • Dauer: 8 Min.
  • Premiere: Weltpremiere
  • Nominierung: A38-Produktions-Stipendium
    • Regie: Meggy Rustamova

    Мульtitask

    Mульtitask dekonstruiert Sprache als lineares System, das uns in Denken, Kommunikation und der Interaktion mit unserer Umgebung beeinflusst. MУЛЬTITASK ist ein Versuch, die Auswirkung unseres erlernten kulturellen Hintergrunds und unserer Identität auf uns als sozialen Wesen aufzuzeigen, insbesondere für unsere zukünftige Fähigkeit, neue Strategien zu entwickeln um eine stabile aufgeschlossene Gesellschaft zu entwerfen.MУЛЬTITASK lädt ein, die Magie zu erleben, Regeln zu brechen; Traditionen abzubauen und Störungen in Sprache, Typografie und Identität zu schaffen, um Stereotypen, geografische Grenzen und kulturelle Grenzen in uns zu überwinden.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Dauer: 3 Min.
  • Premiere: Europapremiere
    • Regie: Ksti Hu

    Trust Study #1

    In TRUST STUDY #1 wird ein Interview mit einem Händler aus dem informellen Finanztransaktionssystem, bekannt als „Hawala“, reproduziert. Der Film zeigt seine eigene Entstehung und nutzt das Interviewformat um mit der Rolle von Datenaufzeichnung, Telefonanrufen, Verwandtschaftsnetzwerken und Gedächtnis innerhalb des Hawala-Systems zu spielen. Dem Text im Film kommt die Rolle irgendwo zwischen der eines Gesprächs und eines stillen Drehbuchs zu. Nostalgische Reiseaufnahmen aus dem Pakistan der 60er Jahre dienen als Hintergrund. Je mehr der Film im Verlauf über die Herkunft der Aufnahmen preisgibt, desto schleierhafter wird deren Bedeutung. TRUST STUDY #1 ist ein Aushandeln zwischen dem Filmemacher und dem anonymen Hawala Händler.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Dauer: 15 Min.
  • Premiere: Europapremiere
    • Regie: Shobun Baile

    The Machine

    In George Perecs Hörspiel „Die Maschine“ (1968) geht es um einen Computer der Goethes Gedicht „Wanderers Nachtlied“ analysiert. Das Gedicht umfasst nur acht Zeilen und nicht mehr als 24 Worte (auf Deutsch). Im Hörspiel wird das Gedicht nicht künstlerisch, sondern systematisch analysiert. Der Computer versucht so die inneren Mechanismen der Poesie zu enthüllen. Der Film spielt bildlich mit der Ironie der Analyse sowie der Seele des Gedichtes und ist eine moderne Ode an Perecs Hörspiel. Die Digitalisierung bringt keine Wahrheit zu Tage, sie verstärkt aber die Magie der Realität. Und egal, wie rational und analytisch man handeln will, Schönheit und Tod bleiben tiefe und rohe Emotionen.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Dauer: 16 Min.
  • Premiere: Deutschlandpremiere
    • Regie: Marieke van der Lippe

    Territorial Fight

    Eine Schülerin und ihr Mentor bei verschiedenen Stimm- und Sprechübungen. TERRITORIAL FIGHT ist ein dokumentarischer Selbstversuch zum Verhältnis von Sprache und Macht. Die Schülerin trainiert das raumeinnehmende Sprechen. Was aber heißt es, unterrichtet zu werden in Bezug auf Körper, Sprache und Raum? Mit der Frage entfalten sich unzählige Aspekte: Hierarchie, Glaubwürdigkeit, Unterwerfung, Selbstwertgefühl, Selbstauflösung, der Wunsch zu dominieren und über sich selbst hinaus zu wachsen.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Dauer: 9 Min.
    • Regie: Sarah Hablützel, Marko Mijatovic

    Quid pro quo

    Zwei junge Frauen unterhalten sich auf der Autobahn. Oder sind sie Figuren aus einer Fernsehserie? Sprechen sie wirklich miteinander? Man muss nicht alleine sein; um sich einsam zu fühlen.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Dauer: 7 Min.
  • Premiere: Deutschlandpremiere
    • Regie: Anastasia Melia Eleftheriou

    中国

    Am 30. März, 1999, versendet der verstorbene Vater des Filmemachers, der fernab seiner Heimat als Wachmann einer Fabrik in Dongguan arbeitete, seinen allerletzten Brief an seine Familie. Wenige Tage später verstirbt er bei einem Unfall im jungen Alter von 36 Jahren. Sein Sohn lernt in Andacht an ihn Kantonesisch und hofft damit Chancen auf einen Job in Guangdong zu haben. Dieses Jahr (2020) wird er selbst 36. Mit dem letzten Brief des Vaters kehrt er an dessen Wohnort vom Zeitpunkt des Todes zurück (Duangguan). Seine Nachricht teilt er in 36 Segmente und bittet 36 Wachmänner der Stadt, ihm beizubringen, die Fragmente auf Kantonesisch vorzutragen.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Dauer: 17 Min.
  • Premiere: Europapremiere
  • Nominierung: Goldener Schlüssel
    • Regie: Binyuan Li