Bodies of Water


KulturBahnhof Kassel

+DokfestOnline Buy streaming ticket

Resilient Bodies of Water, Sensuality, Desire and ghostlike narrations. Mystic landscapes, fluid movements through space, time and ecologies. Fluid identities ever transforming, ever in motion.

“If we follow the stones, we can travel along the path of will.” Sara Ahmed writes in “Willful Stones”. „Stones are assumed to be stationary, such that if they move, it is assumed they are moved by something other than themselves.“ In San Francisco Verde, the protagonist swims through a river carrying a stone on her back. How does the stone affect the body and vice versa? What print does the body leave in its environment and what hybrid being evolves through blending physical ecologies and time spheres of water, stone and the human body? The block shaped stone, referring to the silhouette of a back as well as the functional form of a breakwater, embodies saved and condensed time.… >>>

  • +DokfestOnline
  • Duration: 11 Min.
  • Premiere: World Premiere
    • Director: Tama Ruß

    As the water goes by, Chrishna remembers and tells us about birth, resilience, being and becoming. The spirits of the river are keeping a watchful eye.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Duration: 12 Min.
  • Premiere: German Premiere
    • Director: Claire Doyon

    Places in Bulgaria, characterised by special natural landscapes. Humans appear with an intentional gaze: Either they consume nature or follow worship rituals where nature has a healing power. It is the folklore that makes the clearest approach to nature possible in this mystical appearance: nature becomes the basis of and model for human behaviour, they come together in full value. The film shows different realities that humans construct from their natural environment. We are constantly charging nature with meaning: by seeing faces or figures in cloud or rock formations, by believing in nature as a creative force - or by making it our own in terms of civilisation by imitation. In the end, an artificial sun created by man shines as a counterpoint to the visual worlds of nature's overpowering.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Duration: 16 Min.
  • Premiere: World Premiere
    • Director: Lyoudmila Milanova

    Contoured Thoughts is a meditation on desire, recovery and the rituals of communion. A guide and conspirator alike, Ifekoya takes the viewer to another realm where time all but stands still. Regenerated by the blackness of water and land, the artist offers a moment to share the intimate, the erotic and the otherworldly.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Duration: 5 Min.
  • Premiere: German Premiere
    • Director: Evan Ifekoya

    Darkness never emerges but it is present. Some kind of teenage wasteland feel, unexpected storms and inviting landscapes are intermeshed together. In a bewitching atmosphere, proximity and distance are revealed through a thoughtful structure where images and sounds confuse both – the imagination and the real. Sensuality and desire are seen as forbidden, somehow, like facing a glass wall. And only by looking back, there is an understanding of finding yourself on a moon-like space/place.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Duration: 5 Min.
  • Premiere: German Premiere
    • Director: Charlotte Clermont

    Between a house in the Atlantic forest and a genetically-modified mosquito factory near São Paulo, a polyamorous, non-binary relationship struggles to survive an epidemic spreading across Brazil. While in the factory millions of mosquitos are born daily inside test tubes, the power dynamics between Helmut, Calixto, and Tao only intensifies. The Bite is a film found somewhere between horror, science fiction and a queer drama.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Duration: 26 Min.
  • Premiere: German Premiere
    • Director: Pedro Neves Marques

Wasser – fluide Körper, fluide Welten


KulturBahnhof Kassel

+DokfestOnline Jetzt Streaming-Ticket kaufen

Widerständige Körper im Wasser, Sinnlichkeit, Begehren und geisterhafte Erzählungen. Mystische Landschaften und fließende Bewegungen durch Terrain, Zeitlichkeit und Körperökologien. Fluide Identitäten, Fluide Landschaften – in ständiger Transformation, im ständigen Fluss. (Djamila Grandits)

San Francisco Verde

In San Francisco Verde schwimmt die Protagonistin mit einem Stein auf dem Rücken durch einen Fluss. Wie wirkt der Stein auf ihren Körper? Und umgekehrt? Welchen Abdruck hinterlässt ein Körper in seiner Umwelt? Welches Mischwesen entsteht aus der Verschmelzung der verschiedenen Körperökologien und Zeitlichkeiten von Wasser, Stein und menschlichem Körper? Der blockartige Stein, der sowohl die Form eines Rückens als auch die funktionale Form eines Wellenbrechers aufgreift, verweist dabei auf seine Eigenschaft als gespeicherte und verdichtete Zeit.… >>>

  • +DokfestOnline
  • Dauer: 11 Min.
  • Premiere: Weltpremiere
    • Regie: Tama Ruß

    Chrishna Ombwiri

    Das Wasser zieht vorbei, während Chrishna erinnert und erzählt, von Geburt und Resilienz vom Sein und Werden. Unter dem wachsamen Auge der mystischen Wesen des Flusses.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Dauer: 12 Min.
  • Premiere: Deutschlandpremiere
    • Regie: Claire Doyon

    Wie Augen, wie Mund, wie Vögel, wie Sonne

    Orte in Bulgarien, geprägt von besonderen Landschaften. Menschen und aufgeladene Blicke: Der Konsum von Natur, Rituale dort wo ihr eine heilende Kraft zugeschrieben wird. Dabei ermöglicht hier die Folklore in ihrer mystischen Aufladung den unmittelbarsten Zugang zur Natur. Gezeigt werden Wirklichkeiten, die Menschen aus der natürlichen Umgebung ableiten. Das ständige Aufladen der Natur mit Bedeutung: Gesichter oder Figuren in Wolken- oder Felsformationen, das Konstrukt von Natur als schöpferische Kraft - oder das zivilisatorisch zu eigen machen und nachahmen derselben. Am Ende scheint eine vom Menschen geschaffene Sonne als Kontrapunkt zu den Bildwelten der Aneignung.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Dauer: 16 Min.
  • Premiere: Weltpremiere
    • Regie: Lyoudmila Milanova

    Contoured Thoughts

    Eine Meditation über Begehren, Genesung und die Rituale des Erinnerns. Zeitgleich leitend und verschwörerisch führt Ifekoya die Zuschauer*innen in ein anderes Reich in dem die Zeit alles andere als still steht. Regeneriert von schwarzem Wasser und schwarzem Land, schafft Ifekoya ein Moment in dem das Intime, das Erotische in der Anderswelt erfahrbar wird.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Dauer: 5 Min.
  • Premiere: Deutschlandpremiere
    • Regie: Evan Ifekoya

    special dark glass somewhere

    Die Dunkelheit bleibt im Verborgenen ist jedoch ständig präsent. Das Gefühl vom Ödland verdorbener Jugend, unerwartete Stürme und einladende Landschaft verschmelzen. In einer betörenden Atmosphäre werden Nähe und Distanz befragt, in einer ausgeklügelten Struktur in der Bilder und Soundscapes das Reale wie das Imaginierte auf den Kopf stellen. Sinnlichkeit und Begehren, in ihrer Verbotenheit wie hinter einer Wand aus Glas. Nur durch einen Blick zurück verorten wir uns in einer mondartigen Landschaft.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Dauer: 5 Min.
  • Premiere: Deutschlandpremiere
    • Regie: Charlotte Clermont

    A Mordida

    Zwischen einem Haus im atlantischen Wald und einer Fabrik für genmanipulierte Moskitos nahe São Paulo, kämpft ein polyamores nicht-binäres Beziehungsgeflecht, während einer sich in Brasilien verbreitenden Epidemie, ums Überleben. Während in der Fabrik täglich Millionen von Stechmücken in Reagenzgläsern geboren werden, intensivieren sich die Machtdynamiken zwischen Helmut, Calixto und Tao. A Mordida oszilliert zwischen Horror, Science Fiction und queerem Drama.… >>>

    • +DokfestOnline
    • Dauer: 26 Min.
  • Premiere: Deutschlandpremiere
    • Regie: Pedro Neves Marques