University Portrayal


KulturBahnhof Kassel

// The film program presents a cross-section of the courses at the filmArche. In addition to a film that was submitted to the filmArche for application (BLACKOUT) there are practice films from the different classes, a graduation film (FALTENROCK) as well as a film that was made during our long lasting exchange with the film school in Bamenda,Cameroon (DEMIAN). In order to develop an own style, the filmArche especially promotes the examination of different possibilities and formats of the documentary. This is reflected in the versatile program, which shows classical documentary films as well as various aesthetic variations in documentary format.

Two siblings, traumatized by a tragic childhood event. Their father had been arrested by the French militia and handed over to the German occupying forces for deportation. In their struggle to fill the gaps of their memory they frequently blackout… >>>

  • Duration: 5 Min.
  • Director: Janni Christiane Jungblut

How are our experiences drawn onto our bodies, how do they merge with our identities eventually even becoming ourselves A film about the return to a home that is both healing and painful, and a post-migratory negotiation of a family’s memory.… >>>

  • Duration: 3 Min.
  • Director: Rocío Carline Riekesmann

On November 14, 2019, four young Bolognese orchestrate a flashmob with a clear message that they want to bring to the public space: NO! to right agitation and hate. And so, thousands come together on the Piazza Maggiore – jammed up like Sardines in a tin – to spread the message from Bologna around the world. Thus, they spread under the banner of the Sardine symbolizing the power of the swarm to defeat the “lone shark”. The director meets the Berlin Sardines to talk about their movement, their goals, and their flashmob at the Brandenburg Gate.… >>>

  • Duration: 8 Min.
  • Director: Andrea Messner

The installative short film opens 112 windows in 56 image combinations, from which rhythmically glimpses of nature and culture are cast. Everything begins with a grid, everything ends with a grid. BIO|RATIONAL is an investigation into the "order" of things.… >>>

  • Duration: 4 Min.
  • Director: Andrea Messner

In YOU SHOULD HAVE STAYED HOME the Mexican filmmaker Aline Juárez tells how she was arrested by the Berlin police in April 2020 on the fringes of an art project against German weapon exports. She tells of the racism and sexism of the police officers and confronts their feelings of powerlessness, vulnerability and anger.… >>>

  • Duration: 6 Min.
  • Director: Aline Juárez

An authoritarian regime plans to restore white supremacy in Brazil.. In the midst of political chaos, Tai needs to prove that she is not white, but is faced with uncertainty about her own racial identity. The film delves into the ambiguous concept of race in Brazil, exploring the traces left by its colonial past and the family history of the director.… >>>

  • Duration: 29 Min.
  • Director: Tai Linhares

How do we age in a society where people continue to grow older? Two young filmmakers accompany guests of Hamburg's FALTENROCK party scene, in which admission is only allowed from the age of 60. The confrontation with one's own age is always also a confrontation with the social images of it. The documentary FALTENROCK aims to navigate between these ideas confronting us with our own often fixed depiction of being a pensioner.… >>>

  • Duration: 18 Min.
  • Director: Leonie Kock,Janina Rasch

What happens when you are deported? DEMIAN is a film of change and adaptation, optimism and pragmatism – and above all, Demian is a real person, a young man who has to reorganize himself in Doula, Cameroon, between German diplomas, old photos and unanswered phone calls.… >>>

  • Duration: 9 Min.
  • Director: Marc Sebastian Eils

Hochschulporträt: filmArche


KulturBahnhof Kassel

Das Filmprogramm der filmArche präsentiert einen Querschnitt durch die Studienzeit. Neben einem Film, der zur Bewerbung an der filmArche eingereicht wurde (BLACKOUT) gibt es Übungsfilme aus den verschiedenen Jahrgängen, einen Abschlussfilm (FALTENROCK) sowie einen Film, der in unserem langjährigen Austausch mit der Filmschule in Bamenda, Kamerun entstand (DEMIAN). Zur Herausbildung eines eigenen Stils fördert die filmArche insbesondere die Auseinandersetzung mit verschiedenen Möglichkeiten und Formaten des Dokumentarischen. Dies spiegelt sich in dem vielseitigen Programm wider, das neben klassischen Dokumentarfilmen auch verschiedene ästhetische Spielereien mit dokumentarischen Formen zeigt.

Blackout

Es geht um zwei Menschen – Geschwister – deren Erinnerung aufgrund eines tragischen Ereignisses in ihrer Kindheit Lücken aufweist, was immer wieder zu einem Blackout führt: Ihr Vater war von der französischen Miliz festgenommen und den deutschen Besatzer*innen zur Deportation übergeben worden.… >>>

  • Dauer: 5 Min.
  • Regie: Janni Christiane Jungblut

O Retorno

Wie schreiben sich unsere Erfahrungen in unsere Körper ein, sodass sie eines Tages unsere Identität, ja vielleicht sogar uns selbst ausmachen? Ein Film über die Rückkehr in eine Heimat, die heilsam und schmerzhaft zugleich ist. Eine post-migrantische Verhandlung familiärer Erinnerung.… >>>

  • Dauer: 3 Min.
  • Regie: Rocío Carline Riekesmann

Sardines

Alles beginnt in Bologna am 14. November 2019. Vier junge Bologneser*innen rufen zu einem Flashmob auf: Sie sagen NEIN! zu rechtem Hass und Hetze.Dicht an dicht treffen sich tausende Menschen – zusammengepfercht wie die Sardinen – auf der Piazza Maggiore. Die Sardine wird zu ihrem Symbol: Ein Schwarm, der sich formiert, um den „Hai“ zurückzudrängen. Innerhalb weniger Tage schwärmen die Sardinen aus, auch nach Berlin.… >>>

  • Dauer: 8 Min.
  • Regie: Andrea Messner

Bio|Rational

Der installative Kurzfilm öffnet in 56 Bildkombinationen 112 Fenster, aus denen rhythmisch Blicke auf Natur und Kultur geworfen werden. Alles beginnt mit einem Raster, alles endet mit einem Raster. BIO|RATIONAL ist eine Untersuchung zur „Ordnung" der Dinge.… >>>

  • Dauer: 4 Min.
  • Regie: Andrea Messner

Wären Sie mal besser zuhause geblieben

In WÄREN SIE MAL BESSER ZU HAUSE GEBLIEBEN erzählt die mexikanische Filmemacherin Aline Juárez wie sie im April 2020 am Rande einer Kunstaktion gegen deutsche Waffenexporte durch die Berliner Polizei festgenommen wurde. Sie berichtet vom Rassismus und Sexismus der Polizist*innen und stellt sich ihren Gefühlen der Ohnmacht, Verletzlichkeit und Wut.… >>>

  • Dauer: 6 Min.
  • Regie: Aline Juárez

Parda

Ein autoritäres Regime plant, die Vorherrschaft der Weißen in Brasilien wiederherzustellen. Inmitten von politischem Chaos muss Tai beweisen, wie sie mit der Unsicherheit über ihre eigene ethnische Identität konfrontiert ist. Der Film taucht in das zweideutige Konzept der Hautfarbe in Brasilien ein und erforscht die Spuren, die die koloniale Vergangenheit und die Familiengeschichte der Regisseurin hinterlassen hat.… >>>

  • Dauer: 29 Min.
  • Regie: Tai Linhares

Faltenrock

Was bedeutet Altern in einer Gesellschaft, in der die Menschen immer länger leben? Zwei junge Filmemacherinnen begleiten Stammgäste der Hamburger FALTENROCK-Partyszene, in der der Eintritt erst ab 60 Jahren erlaubt ist. Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem eigenen Alter ist immer auch eine Auseinandersetzung mit den gesellschaftlichen Bildern davon. FALTENROCK möchte sich zwischen diesen Bildern bewegen und uns mit den eigenen Vorstellungen vom Rentendasein konfrontieren.… >>>

  • Dauer: 18 Min.
  • Regie: Leonie Kock,Janina Rasch

Demian

Wie geht es eigentlich weiter, wenn man abgeschoben wird? DEMIAN ist ein Film über Wandel und Anpassung, Optimismus und Pragmatismus – und vor allem ist Demian eine reale Person, ein junger Mensch, der sich in Doula, Kamerun, zwischen deutschen Abschlusszeugnissen, alten Fotos und unbeantworteten Anrufen neu organisieren muss.… >>>

  • Dauer: 9 Min.
  • Regie: Marc Sebastian Eils