The center piece of the Kassel Dokfest is the film program, divided into three sections:


Up to 16 contemporary media installations and sculptures by up-and-coming as well as well-known artists will be presented at the exhibition Monitoring.

» More


The DokfestLounge is not only the location for audiovisual performances by international artists, VJs and DJs but also the nocturnal meeting point for our guests after 10.30 pm.

» More


The Workshop symposium interfiction offers lectures, presentations and workshop-sessions concerning a yearly changing topic, which takes a closer look at the political, social and artistic aspects of the medium internet.

» More


This educational side program is aimed at school students from the 7th till the 13th grade as well as teachers. The project consists of special film programs as well as workshops about film analysis and criticism under the guidance of media educators.

» More


The DokfestForum offers panels, lectures and screenings that raise questions about the interfaces between film and art. During the daytime the DokfestForum as a festival meeting point will provide a café with a video library for accredited guests.

» More


With the Hessian University Film Day, the presentation of a European Film College and hands-on workshops and lectures, the Kassel Dokfest offers possibilities for further education, information on education opportunities and access to professional networks for (Hessian) up-and-coming filmmakers.

» More

Golden Cube

The „Golden Cube“, endowed with 3.500 €, is awarded to the best media installation presented in the exhibition monitoring and is sponsored by the software company Micromata GmbH. All works presented in the exhibition are automatically nominated for this prize.

Nominees 2016

Jasmina Cibic (Building Desire), Lisa Dreykluft (ASMR), Karin Fisslthaler (Once the Day will come), Verena Friedrich (THE LONG NOW), Paula Godínez (Türsteher), Fabian Kühfuß (Playstation), Angelika Levi (Miete Essen Seele Auf), Lotte Meret (Surface Glaze), Yves Netzhammer, Jolanda Gsponer, Annette Brütsch (Peter Liechti – Dedications), Julia Novacek(DAS SPIEL VOM REDEN), Ria Pacquée (Running Around), Johanna Reich (Resurface), Anette Rose (Captured Motion), Arianna Waldner Bingemer (Kassel 9.12.), Maya Watanabe (Escenarios), Paul Wiersbinski (Fly high or I fly above you)

Jury 2016

Kai Middendorff

Wolfgang Jung

Gerald Schauder

Sabine-Maria Schmidt

Beate Anspach

Award winners

2016 Lotte Meret: Surface Glaze

2015 Gerald Schauder: Skulptur 21

2014 Bertrand Flanet:Unmanned Distances

2013 !Mediengruppe Bitnik: Delivery for Mr. Assange
2012 Emanuel Mathias: Nebahats Schwestern
2011 Anu Pennanen: La ruine de regard / Die Ruine des Blicks
2010 Lukas Thiele, Tilman Hatje: Weltmaschine
2009 Sophie Ernst: HOME
2008 Stefanos Tsivopoulos: Untitled (The Remake)
2007 Erik Olofsen: Public Figures
2006 Markus Bertuch: Walperloh
2005 Eske Schlüters: Knowing as much as the man in the moon
2004 Renzo Martens: Episode 1
2003 Claudia Aravena Abughosh: Greetings from Palestina