01.SCREENINGS

The center piece of the Kassel Dokfest is the film program, divided into three sections:

02.MONITORING

Up to 16 contemporary media installations and sculptures by up-and-coming as well as well-known artists will be presented at the exhibition Monitoring.

» More

03.DOKFEST LOUNGE

The DokfestLounge is not only the location for audiovisual performances by international artists, VJs and DJs but also the nocturnal meeting point for our guests after 10.30 pm.

» More

04.INTERFICTION

The Workshop symposium interfiction offers lectures, presentations and workshop-sessions concerning a yearly changing topic, which takes a closer look at the political, social and artistic aspects of the medium internet.

» More

05.JUNGES DOKFEST

This educational side program is aimed at school students from the 7th till the 13th grade as well as teachers. The project consists of special film programs as well as workshops about film analysis and criticism under the guidance of media educators.

» More

06.DOKFEST FORUM

The DokfestForum offers panels, lectures and screenings that raise questions about the interfaces between film and art. During the daytime the DokfestForum as a festival meeting point will provide a café with a video library for accredited guests.

» More

07.EDUCATION

With the Hessian University Film Day, the presentation of a European Film College and hands-on workshops and lectures, the Kassel Dokfest offers possibilities for further education, information on education opportunities and access to professional networks for (Hessian) up-and-coming filmmakers.

» More

interfiction

How do the developments in the area of digital media affect our culture? What are our possibilities to influence these developments and to actively shape (media) cultures? What are the relations of technologic, artistic, social and political utopias and realities in art and everyday life, in science and society? Which connections are there between the different fields and cultures? And what do people from different disciplines learn from each other? Questions like these are addressed and dealt with at interfiction, the workshop-symposium for art, media and net culture. Each year we choose a special topic to take up the challenge.

In 2017 the interfiction conference for art, media and network cultures invites with lectures, presentations and workshop-sessions to go for *TOPIA! We are interested in new and old, fantastic, concrete and real utopias and dystopias. bio- and technotopias – and especially in how media can be used not only as displays, but also as tools for conceiving *TOPIAS, and for making them become reality.

Artists, video- and filmmakers, designers, programmers and (h)activists, researchers in media and network cultures, and others interested in interdisciplinary exchange are invited to join the conference and to discuss their ideas and projects. Moreover, the interfiction DIY-Lab will offer opportunities to test, to share and to develop how-tos and know-how in practice as well.

Head of the section is Dr. Verena Kuni, professor for Visual Culture at the Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main.

Team 2017: Karsten Asshauer, Martin Dege & Verena Kuni

 

PROGRAM 2017 – interfiction *TOPIA!

Kassel, November 17-19, 2017
Medienprojektzentrum Offener Kanal, KulturBahnhof

FRI, Nov 17, 2017 – 7 p.m.
Warm Up!
interfiction intro w. lecture, lab & bar

SAT, Nov 18, 2017 – 10:00 a.m. – Offener Kanal
SUN, Nov 19, 2017 – 11:00 a.m. – Offener Kanal
Workshop-seminar with lectures, projects, presentations, videos, discussions, & DIY interfiction-Lab

Call for contributions and further information: www.interfiction.org

Contact: info@interfiction.org

 

About interfiction

interfiction, a yearly workshop symposium, has been part of the Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival since 1995. As the interdisciplinary section of the festival, interfiction’s aim is to bring together artists and scholars, theorists and practitioners in one event, in order to deal with the complex field of art, media and net culture together. Every year there is a new topic of focus. Based on the pressing questions of the issues, projects and hypothesis are presented and discussed, while workshops and talks enable a concentrated exchange, which is supposed to lead to a deeper reflection and show new perspectives.

interfiction is a forum for the exchange, networking and cooperation of producers of theory practice. The main structure of the event is reflected in the wish to function as a “temporary laboratory” – not only a platform for ideas and projects but to enable a direct and productive discussion about questions and problems which are essential to the participants.

Find further information about interfiction, as well as an archive of the past events at www.interfiction.org.

Contact: info@interfiction.org

01.SCREENINGS

Herzstück des Festivals ist das Filmprogramm, aufgeteilt in drei verschiedene Sektionen:

02.MONITORING

Die Medienkunstausstellung Monitoring präsentiert bis zu 16 aktuelle (Video-)Installationen von etablierten Künstler/innen und viel versprechenden Nachwuchstalenten.

» Mehr erfahren

03.DOKFEST LOUNGE

Die DokfestLounge ist nicht nur Spielort für audiovisuelle Performances internationaler Künstler, VJs und DJs, sondern auch allabendlicher Party-Treffpunkt für unsere Gäste.

» Mehr erfahren

04.INTERFICTION

Die interdisziplinäre Tagung beschäftigt sich in Vorträgen, Workshops und Gesprächsrunden mit jährlich wechselnden Themen aus Medien und Netzkultur.

» Mehr erfahren

05.JUNGES DOKFEST

Das Begleitprogramm richtet sich gezielt an Schüler der Klassen 7 bis 13. Geboten werden speziell zusammen­gestellte Filmprogramme sowie Workshops zu Filmanalyse und Kreativem Schreiben, durchgeführt und betreut von Medienpädagogen.

» Mehr erfahren

06.DOKFEST FORUM

Das DokfestForum bietet ein Veranstaltungs­programm aus Vorträgen, Panels und Screenings zur Schnitt­stelle zwischen Film und Kunst. Tagsüber dient es als Café und Festivaltreffpunkt und stellt Sichtungsplätze für Fachbesucher zur Verfügung.

» Mehr erfahren

07.EDUCATION

Mit dem Hessischen Hochschulfilmtag, der Präsentation einer europäischen Filmhochschule und praxisbezogenen Vorträgen und Workshops bietet das Kasseler Dokfest dem (hessischen) Filmnachwuchs Möglichkeiten zur Weiterbildung, Informationen zu Ausbildung und Zugang zu professionellen Netzwerken.

» Mehr erfahren

Workshop-Tagung interfiction

Wie beeinflussen die Entwicklungen auf dem Gebiet der digitalen Medien unsere Kultur? Welche Möglichkeiten haben wir, unsererseits Einfluss auf diese Entwicklungen zu nehmen und (Medien)Kulturen aktiv mit zu gestalten? Wie verhalten sich technologische, künstlerische, soziale und politische Utopien und Realitäten in Kunst und Alltag, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft zueinander? Welche Transfers gibt es zwischen den verschiedenen Feldern und Kulturen? Und was können wir als Vertreter/innen unterschiedlicher Disziplinen voneinander lernen? Fragen wie diesen geht interfiction, die Tagung für Kunst, Medien und Netzkultur, anhand jährlich wechselnder Themenschwerpunkte nach.

2017 ruft interfiction: *TOPIA! Wir interessieren uns für neue und alte, phantastische, konkrete und reale Utopien und Dystopien, Bio- und Technotopien – und ganz besonders für die Frage, welche Rolle Medien nicht nur als Displays, sondern auch als Werkzeuge für Entwürfe von *TOPIEN sowie dabei spielen, diese Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen.

Künstler/innen, Video- und Filmemacher/innen, Programmierer/innen, (H)A(c)ktivist/innen, DesignerInnen, Medien-, Netz- und Kulturwissenschaftler/innen und andere an einem interdisziplinären Austausch zum Thema interessierte Theoretiker/innen und Praktiker/innen sind dazu eingeladen, im Rahmen der Tagung in Vorträgen und Präsentationen Thesen und Projekte vorzustellen und zu diskutieren – sowie im interfiction DIY-Lab Praxiswissen auszutauschen und neues Know-how zu erwerben.

 

Leiterin der Tagung ist Dr.Verena Kuni, Professorin für Visuelle Kultur an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main.

Team 2017: Karsten Asshauer, Martin Dege und Verena Kuni

 

PROGRAMM 2017 – interfiction *TOPIA!

Kassel, 17. – 19. November 2017
Medienprojektzentrum Offener Kanal im KulturBahnhof

FR 17.11.2017 – 19:00 Uhr
Warm Up!
interfiction intro mit Eröffnungsvortrag, lab & bar

SA 18.11.2017 – 10:00 Uhr
SO 19.11.2017 – 11:00 Uhr
Workshop-Seminar mit Vorträgen, Projekt-Präsentationen, Künstler/innen-Gesprächen, Videos, Diskussionen & DIY interfiction lab

Weitere Informationen und Materialien zu interfiction unter: www.interfiction.org
Kontakt: info@interfiction.org

 

 

ÜBER INTERFICTION

Seit 1995 findet die Workshop-Tagung interfiction jährlich als im Rahmen des Kasseler Dokumentarfilm- und Videofestes statt. Als dessen interdisziplinäre Sektion will interfiction Künstler/innen und Wissenschaftler/innen, Theoretiker/innen und Praktiker/innen zu einer Veranstaltung zusammenzubringen, in der gemeinsam das komplexe Spannungsfeld von Kunst, Medien und Netzkultur ausgelotet werden kann. Jedes Jahr wird dazu ein aktuelles Fokus-Thema ausgewählt. Ausgehend von Fragestellungen werden dabei in Vorträgen und Präsentationen Thesen und Projekte vor- und zur Diskussion gestellt, während Workshops und Gesprächsrunden einen konzentrierten Austausch fördern, der über eine Vertiefung und Reflexion hinaus auch weiterführende Perspektiven eröffnen soll.

Die Workshop-Tagung interfiction versteht sich als Forum für den Austausch, die Vernetzung und die Zusammenarbeit von Produzent/innen aus Theorie und Praxis. Die Grundstruktur der Veranstaltung entspricht dem Anliegen, als ein "temporäres Labor" zu funktionieren, also nicht nur Plattform für Ideen und Projekte zu sein, sondern eine direkten und produktive Auseinandersetzung über Fragen und Probleme zu ermöglichen, welche die Teilnehmer/innen in der Arbeit an und mit diesen Ideen bzw. im Rahmen entsprechender Projekte beschäftigen.

Weitere Informationen zu interfiction und ein Archiv der bisherigen Veranstaltungen unter www.interfiction.org.