01.SCREENINGS

The center piece of the Kassel Dokfest is the film program, divided into three sections:

02.MONITORING

Up to 16 contemporary media installations and sculptures by up-and-coming as well as well-known artists will be presented at the exhibition Monitoring.

» More

03.DOKFEST LOUNGE

The DokfestLounge is not only the location for audiovisual performances by international artists, VJs and DJs but also the nocturnal meeting point for our guests after 10.30 pm.

» More

04.INTERFICTION

The Workshop symposium interfiction offers lectures, presentations and workshop-sessions concerning a yearly changing topic, which takes a closer look at the political, social and artistic aspects of the medium internet.

» More

05.JUNGES DOKFEST

This educational side program is aimed at school students from the 7th till the 13th grade as well as teachers. The project consists of special film programs as well as workshops about film analysis and criticism under the guidance of media educators.

» More

06.DOKFEST FORUM

The DokfestForum offers panels, lectures and screenings that raise questions about the interfaces between film and art. During the daytime the DokfestForum as a festival meeting point will provide a café with a video library for accredited guests.

» More

07.EDUCATION

With the Hessian University Film Day, the presentation of a European Film College and hands-on workshops and lectures, the Kassel Dokfest offers possibilities for further education, information on education opportunities and access to professional networks for (Hessian) up-and-coming filmmakers.

» More

DokfestForum

DokfestForum 2016

DokfestForum was founded in 2010 in cooperation with Fridericianum. As a venue for lectures, artist talks and screenings located at the intersection of film and art, the DokfestForum extends the spectrum of the festival to include the fine arts.

//

The DokfestForum will take place in cooperation with the Fridericianum. With lectures, artist talks and screenings, which thematically range in the intersection of film, documentary and art, the DokfestForum broadens the spectre of the festival to include the fine arts. Over the course of two evenings the Fridericianum will present guests who, based on the cinematic work of artist Loretta Fahrenholz, will dedicate themselves to the theoretical discussion of the boundaries between documentary-film and fiction. In our, through media perceived and mediated, present, the camera is only one of many recording mediums, and is itself a part of the reality depicted. The transition between real life and activities in networks is hardly detectable, connection and mediation are omnipresent, everyone works on their self and the image of that self. The resulting change of cinematic picture, among other things, is currently discussed under the heading “post-cinema”. With the film scholar Selmin Kara and the philosopher and media scholar Astrid Deuber-Mankowsky, and as part of the exhibition by Loretta Fahrenholz, focus is directed towards the theory of the documental. Loretta Fahrenholz can currently be seen in the solo exhibition “Two A.M.” in the Fridericianum. With her films, she examines our, by collective fictions, self-staging and media-mediation characterized, present times.

01.SCREENINGS

Herzstück des Festivals ist das Filmprogramm, aufgeteilt in drei verschiedene Sektionen:

02.MONITORING

Die Medienkunstausstellung Monitoring präsentiert bis zu 16 aktuelle (Video-)Installationen von etablierten Künstler/innen und viel versprechenden Nachwuchstalenten.

» Mehr erfahren

03.DOKFEST LOUNGE

Die DokfestLounge ist nicht nur Spielort für audiovisuelle Performances internationaler Künstler, VJs und DJs, sondern auch allabendlicher Party-Treffpunkt für unsere Gäste.

» Mehr erfahren

04.INTERFICTION

Die interdisziplinäre Tagung beschäftigt sich in Vorträgen, Workshops und Gesprächsrunden mit jährlich wechselnden Themen aus Medien und Netzkultur.

» Mehr erfahren

05.JUNGES DOKFEST

Das Begleitprogramm richtet sich gezielt an Schüler der Klassen 7 bis 13. Geboten werden speziell zusammen­gestellte Filmprogramme sowie Workshops zu Filmanalyse und Kreativem Schreiben, durchgeführt und betreut von Medienpädagogen.

» Mehr erfahren

06.DOKFEST FORUM

Das DokfestForum bietet ein Veranstaltungs­programm aus Vorträgen, Panels und Screenings zur Schnitt­stelle zwischen Film und Kunst. Tagsüber dient es als Café und Festivaltreffpunkt und stellt Sichtungsplätze für Fachbesucher zur Verfügung.

» Mehr erfahren

07.EDUCATION

Mit dem Hessischen Hochschulfilmtag, der Präsentation einer europäischen Filmhochschule und praxisbezogenen Vorträgen und Workshops bietet das Kasseler Dokfest dem (hessischen) Filmnachwuchs Möglichkeiten zur Weiterbildung, Informationen zu Ausbildung und Zugang zu professionellen Netzwerken.

» Mehr erfahren

DokfestForum

Das DokfestForum findet in Kooperation mit dem Fridericianum statt. Mit Vorträgen, Artist Talks und Screenings, die sich thematisch in der Schnittmenge von Film, Dokumentation und Kunst bewegen, erweitert das DokfestForum das Spektrum des Festivals. An zwei Abenden präsentiert das Fridericianum Gäste, die sich ausgehend von dem filmischen Schaffen der Künstlerin Loretta Fahrenholz in theoretischer Weise den Grenzziehungen zwischen Dokumentarfilm und Fiktion widmen. In unserer medial wahrgenommenen und vermittelten Gegenwart ist die Kamera nur noch ein Aufzeichnungsmedium unter vielen und selbst Teil der abgebildeten Realität. Der Übergang zwischen dem wirklichen Leben und den Aktivitäten in Netzwerken ist kaum wahrnehmbar, Verbindung und Vermittlung sind allgegenwärtig, jeder/jede arbeitet am Selbst und am Bild von diesem Selbst. Es sind unter anderem die daraus resultierenden Veränderungen des filmischen Bildes, die gegenwärtig unter dem Begriff „Postcinema“ diskutiert werden. Mit der Filmwissenschaftlerin Selmin Kara und der Philosophin und Medienwissenschaftlerin Astrid Deuber-Mankowsky wird im Rahmen der Ausstellung von Loretta Fahrenholz der Fokus auf die Theorie des Dokumentarischen gelenkt. Loretta Fahrenholz ist derzeit mit der Einzelausstellung „Two A.M.“ im Fridericianum zu sehen und untersucht in ihren Filmen unsere von kollektiven Fiktionen, Selbstinszenierung und medialer Vermittlung geprägte Gegenwart.